1. jedellion

jedellion Member

World Building 101 - Part 1

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by jedellion, Jan 20, 2013.

World Building 101

By Paul (Jedellion) Mather
    Many writers, especially those involved in the field of speculative fiction, also known as science fiction and fantasy, often need to construct elaborate and believable worlds; some with more success than others.

Over the course of this article, I would like to introduce you to the process of world building; a field that is part science and part art.

I am an avid reader and writer of fantasy and science fiction, and a long standing creator of fantasy worlds for role-playing games. I believe I have some experience and knowledge that may be of use to other aspiring writers in the field.A few years ago I completed my degree assignment which was to design a World-Building database application. One day I may even get around to writing a front end and letting people have copies, you never know.

What is world building?

World building is the process of developing resources and materials to help a writer stay consistent within his own imaginary world. The process of working out the details of a world can, in itself, spawn numerous story ideas. Undoubtedly the best reason to systematically world-build is the level of detail and richness that it can add to your text. Knowing where everything is, what it might look like, and how it might affect your characters, greatly enhances your ability to write detailed, colourful descriptions in your text.

Where to start?

There are two schools of thought regarding starting a new world building project. Macro-to-micro, or ‘Top down’ and, yes you guessed it, micro-to-macro, or ‘bottom up.’

Top down.