Tags:
  1. StoryForest

StoryForest Banned

Commas for: "So he too was surprised"

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by StoryForest, Aug 23, 2019.

What would you say is the proper way to write, "So he too was surprised when she came to him for help."?

A: So he, too, was surprised whens she came to him for help.

B: So, he, too, was surprised when she came to him for help.

C: So he too was surprised when she came to him for help.

I was going to write it using A but have seen it written in B and C as well. Are any if them more correct than others?

2. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

C

3. Malisky

Malisky Malkatorean Contributor

Not sure, but can't it also be: "So, he too was surprised when she came to him for help"?
    I don't mean to confuse you. I'm just learning from these threads as well.

4. Seven Crowns

Seven Crowns Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor Contest Winner 2022

A comma after 'so' implies a shift in intention.

"So, you're saying that we shouldn't eat strychnine?"​

But you can read that and convince yourself that the comma doesn't need to be there. It really depends on its context. Is there a reversal in that sentence or is it all just a logical conclusion? That depends on the set up.

Commas around 'too' are used for emphasis, almost a dramatic inclusion.

"TSA accused my grandniece, too, of smuggling black tar heroin. We were arrested and our plot was foiled."​

Your sentence is very matter of fact. I don't know its previous context, but I'm also betting this should be C.

What makes this type of grammar tricky is that it's non-sentential. That's rare for grammar. It usually begins and ends at the sentence. The only way to get this one right is to look around it and see what the previous sentences are leading to.

5. Stephen Barnard

Stephen Barnard Active Member

C all day, for readability.

6. StoryForest

StoryForest Banned

Thanks, Everyone! Let me put it into context:

[John showed Paul the letter he received from Katy.]