1. Raynimator

Raynimator New Member

Sentence structure when dealing with dialogue.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Raynimator, Apr 15, 2010.

Like I mentioned in a previous thread I'm pretty new to this world. The most writing I had experience with was essays for school and needless to say its been a long time. Without getting too far off track with back-story here, I'm just gonna ask my question. So, when I write dialog for my characters does every bit of dialog become its own paragraph of sorts? Or if the same character speaks multiple times in the same paragraph can it continue? If so, how long is too long?

“Lets go Christian, its better than sitting in here.” Eleni slowly picked herself up from her place by my side. “I think maybe they will tell us where our parents are.” She grabbed my hand and began to gently tug my arm, urging me to my feet.

“Lets go Christian, its better than sitting in here.” Eleni slowly picked herself up from her place by my side.
    “I think maybe they will tell us where our parents are.” She grabbed my hand and began to gently tug my arm, urging me to my feet.

On a side note can anyone point me to a highly recommended book on fictional writing? Id hate to harass you guys with every single, little bitty question. Plus, it would help my cause to be as educated as possible in my craft so my reader can be properly taken on the adventure they signed up for.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

This may help with your dialogue questions: He said, she said - Mechanics of Dialogue

Fortunately, you probably have a great resource for learning to write - your collection of novels. There will, unfortunately, be some poor examples in the mix, too, but the more you read, the better you eill become at knowing the difference.

3. Raynimator

Raynimator New Member