1. essential life

essential life New Member

Short Story I can never FINISH anything

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by essential life, Oct 16, 2009.

I like to write short stories, which I then post online. Mostly fan fiction. But I don't know what it is. I'll start a story, but I can never seem to get it just right. Parts of it will be good, but there will always be parts that I just can't get my head around. I'll type a line and then be in a constant state of indecision whether that line can be better or not. And that's a big problem when you're writing hundreds or thousands of lines. Often I'll try moving on to something else and then come back to it at a later date, but that never seems to help. Anyways...just needed to rant. I'm a beginning writer. Is it always like this? Will it get any better?

2. Destin

Destin New Member

Indeed I used to have the same problem. The key is to stop re-reading everything you write and just burn away at the keys. Even if you know what you wrote doesnt really make sense just carry forward with your train of thought and don't look back till you finish the whole thing.

3. Fox Favinger

Fox Favinger New Member

Destin's right. I use to be the same way, but I would become obsessed with outlines and research.

One day I had a loose idea in my head for a story and just starting writing, and writing... After several weeks it turned into one of the best short stories I ever wrote. I only did research when I absolutely had to and I kept the outline in my head, which is as far as it needed to go.

So my advice is, just keep writing and don't sweat the small stuff. You do that after you're done and you are revising. Then you can get nitpicky and what not.