1. Ms_Tex

Ms_Tex New Member

Novel novel writing question

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Ms_Tex, Aug 15, 2012.

Is novel writing basically like short story writing, only longer?

Let me begin by saying that I am a short story writer who has decided to join the 21st century and transcribe my stories from my notebooks to the computer. In this process, I have decided to take a few of the stories that feature the same two main characters and expand them into a novel.

When writing a short story, I normally start with an idea/character/scene, and write a basic outline of how I think the story should go. I write my rough draft and put it aside for a while. A few days/weeks/months later, I come back and change a few things around, add some things ("show, don't tell" kind of adding), take some things out, etc., before making sure I'm happy with the grammar and such. Then I let it sit a while before coming back to make sure it's exactly what I want, changing things if needed.

Will this process work for writing a novel?

2. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

I don't see why it wouldn't. Novels are stories which are long in nature. My completed one, Phoenix Rising, has one central problem and it takes a while to resolve it to make 90k words (typical novel length). Die Another Day (working title for my sequel) has two issues to deal with, but both are interconnected, to resolve.

The key to a novel is making sure you have a plot, subplots, and character arc which will carry you the distance. Most novels (for adult audiences) are 80-120k in length, 80-100k being the acceptable amount from new authors. YA tends to be shorter, 60k. Just make sure you know you're plot can run that long, or you'll have to, perhaps, create a bigger story idea.

3. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

To give a working example "The Hunger Games" checked in at 99750.

4. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor