1. Baller Dale

Baller Dale New Member

Novel Want to write a novel but not studying English/Creative Writing.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Baller Dale, Jan 25, 2012.

Hello. How you guys doing? My name's Dale but I'll cut to the chase.

Basically I want to write a novel (and then hopefully a multitude after the first) but I worry that it won't be good enough because I'm not studying English/Creative Writing. I'm 20-years-old studying Journalism, and although I do have journalistic aspirations, I've realized that I also want to write novels.

My questions: Are English/Creative Writing courses synonymous with novel writers? And do you think it's possible I could get books published with practice, as opposed to doing the aforementioned degrees?

Thank you :D

2. madhoca

madhoca Contributor Contributor

I had a terrible romantic novel published when I was a student, based on my experiences working making film costumes, but my first degree was social and economic history. There were no 'creative writing' BAs at the time I applied to uni in England (or none that I could find; there were a few masters courses), although I could have studied for a BA in English. It didn't stop me becoming a journalist later, or going on to write more novels. So no, the courses you mention are not synonymous with novel writers, although I'm sure they are useful and have set many talented writers in the right direction.

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

No

Of course.

I'd say the majority of writers probably didn't study creative writing. It's one of those things that can be incredibly helpful, but certainly is neither a guarantee or a requirement.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

ditto that!... check out the bios of the top 100 novelists of all time and you'll find few [if any] who studied creative writing, or had/have any degrees...

5. Kallithrix

Kallithrix Banned