1. lipton_lover

lipton_lover New Member

'special' musical feeling? *small sexual reference*

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by lipton_lover, Feb 22, 2009.

I'm looking for anyone else who's had the same feeling as I did yesterday, because I really need help describing it. I play piano, (I've been playing for almost 10 years) and my latest/favorite piece is my own modified composition of The Giving by Michael W. Smith, on the album Freedom. I play it over and over again, that's how much I love it. It's one song where I can really put emotion into it, especially in the middle. If you listen to the song, you'll know where the part is, it's the most dramatic. I also have a great ending.
    Anyways... I was playing with my fellow students at a nursing home yesterday. The piano there is old and out of tune, which wasn't so great for my first song (Toccata in D minor) but it really brought out the best in The Giving. When I got the the passionate dramatic middle, I played it exceptionally well. Not only that, I felt the most amazing thing ever. The trouble is, I have NO clue how to describe it. The closest thing I can compare it to is an orgasm, but even that doesn't do it justice. I'm posting this hoping the someone else who's had the same experience can help me find the words to describe it, preferably without sexual references.
    Thanks, Nate

2. Paul_V

Paul_V New Member

I believe that what you're looking for is something similar to "sublime feeling of extreme accomplishment." The key here is the word "sublime," or any of its synonyms, since it separates this otherwise ordinary feeling of success or accomplishment from the rest. I believe that it could be compared to something akin to victory, where you accomplish something that you didn't think it was possible.