?

were you/are you being taught how to write?

1. yes, i took/am taking college writing courses and/or have an english degree

11 vote(s)
    17.5%
  2. no, i learned on my own

52 vote(s)
    82.5%
  3. i had/have a private tutor

1 vote(s)
    1.6%
  4. took/taking online course/s only

2 vote(s)
    3.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

were you 'taught' or did you learn to write on your own?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mammamaia, Jan 6, 2013.

a new member's introduction post just made me wonder how many of our members actually went the 'higher education' route vs self-taught ones like me, who simply learned to write by reading...

if anyone has reliable stats on this in re successful authors, i'd be interested in knowing the percentages there, too...

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

I have an English degree, so we were taught things like Aristotle, Sophocles, Shakespeare, Romantic poetry and such, Literary Theory, Linguistics and Creative Writing. I've been writing all my life though, so I wasn't 'taught' how to write in university, it just fixed some of the amateurish flaws in my writing because it was a workshop. I don't consider myself either self-taught, or of the 'higher education' route. My degree represents for me a knowledge of philosophy, the literary canon, and theory which is helpful with my writing but ... I would have been writing anyway.

3. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

I should qualify my 'self-taught' answer, I suppose, because I did take a couple creative writing classes in high school. But I wrote my first story in grade school...

4. evelon

evelon Active Member