Tags:
  1. oddsea

oddsea New Member

Adventure game developer looking for plot ideas

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by oddsea, Mar 19, 2009.

Hi, I'm a developer for Odd Sea Games, and I'm working on a game that will be loosely based upon the Odyssey. The game will be early 90's style adventure, similar to King's Quest or Monkey Island.

I've begun work on the plot, and at this point, I'm sort of stuck.

Here's what I've got so far:

It's around 700BC. The protagonist is Izzy, a man from a town called Iffica. He's been away at war now with Troy for 10 years, and he's hoping his girlfriend Penny hasn't given up and moved on to another guy.

The game begins with a shipwreck that leaves Izzy shipless and crewless, floating on the debris in the middle of the ocean.

He manages to make his way to an island, where he is taken hostage by Calypso. She takes him to her plot of land, which is surrounded by a moat, and the only way off is by boat. The ferryman isn't about to help Izzy escape, so Izzy wanders around and shouts to a man on the other side of the moat who is a ship builder. This man, named Herman, offers to build a ship for Izzy to get home, although he won't help escape the moated land.

Izzy rounds up some wood and floats it across the moat for Herman to work with (since there are not enough trees on his side to build the ship), and Herman builds the ship. Rudely, Herman announces that if Izzy cannot board the ship and leave the harbor immediately, he will have to auction the ship in the next few hours. Izzy explains this will be impossible, and the ship goes up for auction. Herman then sends his business card in a bottle across the moat.