1. Kratos

Kratos New Member

Description

Discussion in 'Descriptive Development' started by Kratos, Apr 29, 2008.

I've noticed, (and so have others), that I'm not too good with describing the settings of my stories. Does anyone have any advice on how to improve?

Thanks in advance.

2. para_noir

para_noir New Member

Try do first do it in your head. This is what I did. Every time I looked at a beautiful scenery (on a photo, in real life, etc) I would immediately put everything I saw into words in my head. It grew into a habit then.

I started writing everything down after that. Sometimes, just for the heck of it, I would look outside my window, and write about everything I saw. Put everything I saw into words. That helps ALOT. You may think its a waste of time, but it honestly helps. (Also, I noticed that each time I did this, I wrote something new, even though nothing changed outside)
    Once you get into the habit of doing this, it will be really really easy to describe what you see in your head. Then describing isn't a problem anymore. :)

3. Mr Sci Fi

Mr Sci Fi New Member

Think of the senses, what your characters can see, smell, hear, touch and taste. Describe the setting as it appears to the senses.

Think of what's imperative to the scene and elaborate. Omit anything not necessary.

Imagine how your characters control their environment and stay true to it. A husband and wife engaged in an argument will behave very differently in the privacy of their own bedroom than a public park.

4. para_noir

para_noir New Member

Oh and also, one more thing I learned to do. First, before you start writing, picture yourself there, in that place. Walk around, explore. Its YOUR world, remember!

Then, on a separate piece of paper or in the computer, type what you see, EVERY MINUTE DETAIL. Everything from the shape of the clouds to the footprints in the sand. Remember, this is only for practice, till you get better at it.

5. Mordecai

Mordecai New Member