1. passenger

passenger Member

First attempt at a story… Giving the reader a historical account of events. Is this interesting?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by passenger, Oct 21, 2014.

I've never written before, so I will most likely have many grammar errors, all of which would be a great help point out. This is a sci-fi story I'm trying to write it is literally the first thing I've written.

I'm not trying to set the mood just yet, just trying to give a historical account of events to the reader. Is this gripping enough? How can I make it more appealing?

In 2041 a NASA space probe discovered a planet very similar to our own in a neighboring galaxy. Through a joint effort between the U.S. Government and a privately funded space exploration agency, a mission was set out to explore the new world. What they found astonished everyone as they realized the planet had been, at one time, inhabited by a human race with advanced weaponry. The most advanced weapon in their arsenal had been biomechanical suits, which had the capability of metamorphosis around the individuals who wore them. it was later discovered that a vast majority of the planet's natural resources had been consumed far too quickly, destroying the planets ecosystem altogether, which led to the demise of the previously advanced human race. Since there the planet's natural resources had been blighted, the space agency left the planet, declaring it uninhabitable and returned to Earth bringing the l suits back with them.

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor