1. Exzalia

Exzalia Banned Contributor

I have a huge problem that I need help advice for.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Exzalia, Jul 30, 2012.

I have a confession to make. I am a writer with an ironic problem, my spelling and grammar is Atrocious. Yes it's like a professionally swimmer with a fear of water but that's my situation and I need advice on how to over come it. Now I am not entirely sure why I'm so bad at it and I'm not going to sit here and just blame the education system (Though that maybe the case.) I do however think it's got to do with an awfully old and bad habit and, maybe related to how my brain works. I spell the way words sound and not the way it's spelled. This is more true when I'm n the heat of an epic scene like a battle or other wise. Example, even while I wrote this I came across the word grammar which is spelled G,r,a,m,m,a,r but when spoken sounds like. G,r,a,m,m,e,r with an ERRRR at the end. Only after I had written it had I realised my mistake, and only do to spell check.

When I was younger I used to spell the word phone as F,O,N,E because that's how it sounded. It took sometime to break that particular word.

even the word particular is often pronounced perticular with an E and not an A and again I end up spelling it that way.

Does any one else have this problem? How does one break this habit?

As for grammar I don't know what happened to me in school but none of the lessons ever stuck with me. (It's like aliens sucked out the info while I slept (T_T)
    Since I'm a new member and not yet able to post my own stories for another 12 days, I'm taking this time to ask for any tips, or resources you may have to help me with this. I know one thing, I love to make stories and I love to write (My longest story has over 100 thousand words and I'm still not done!) and I know if I can get the formatting down I'll be good. So please help me :)

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor