1. Duchess-Yukine-Suoh

Duchess-Yukine-Suoh Girl #21 Contributor

On near-death

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Duchess-Yukine-Suoh, Jan 1, 2014.

Is the "main character who we all expect to die after fatal wound lives thanks to magic" too cliche, or could someone pull it off? I've sort of planned it to happen in my urban fantasy...

2. Oswiecenie

Oswiecenie Active Member

Using magic to solve problems is bad storytelling. You could invent a million other reasons why the MC is still alive. Make up your mind and be creative.

3. T.Trian

T.Trian Overly Pompous Bastard Supporter Contributor

Anything can work if you do it well. That aside and considering I have no knowledge of the scene, the context, the story etc, my personal preference would go against doing that since many variants can leave the reader feeling cheated, like the author took the cheap way out, especially since there are many other ways to pull off the same effect.

Thornesque and Andrae Smith like this.
  4. Andrae Smith

Andrae Smith Bestselling Author|Editor|Writing Coach Contributor

Magic itself is not inherently cliche, but I would be conscious of how you intend to use it, why you intend to use it, and the effects of using it. Keep in mind that many things come at a price. Be creative. Think of all the open possibilities. Just remember, it can't be too easy.

5. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

I'd say only if magic is a prominent aspect of the story.

6. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

If magic is used for something as big as healing fatal wounds, someone needs to pay the price. For example, the principle of "backlash magic." The character is dying, and someone uses magic to heal them, but they, themselves, take on the full extent of the injuries they've just healed.