1. Reximus

Reximus New Member

Novel Bible Reference, how far can you go?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Reximus, Dec 1, 2009.

I am currently a young amateur and designing a fantasy novel.

I have a character that is a half-demon who also accepted religion to cope with a tragic past.

I want this character to quote scripture at certain situations that make it cool.

For example, he could say "As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil." As he walks along a path through dark, corrupted woods.

My question is, is it okay to quote scripture in a novel? I hope to get this published one day but I don't want a Christianity reference to ruin my chances. Being unknown to the limits of referencing a religion. I want to know if there are any writers out there that know whats okay, and whats not. All advice appreciated. Thank you.

2. Gannon

Gannon Contributor Contributor

3. deltaquid

deltaquid New Member

Well, you can find the bible for free online, (at least in Dutch), so I don't think copyright is an issue if you exactly quote that version.

Now, of course, you're talking about 'how much is too much"? Well, it's too much if you, at any point, have to explain to a friend: "What do you mean it's not symbolic?"

And Christians won't be offended. Left 4 dead 2 has a character quote "We are walking through the valley of shadow of death, and we are kicking ass!" as they shoot zombies. So no, I don't think there could be any problems unless you're pushing it or directly attacking Christianity. (Or any other religion for that matter.)

4. In Antarctica

In Antarctica Banned

Not to mention the rather obvious point that your art should never be sacrificed to your market. If the truth of your character is dependent upon extensive, and indeed maybe offensive, quotations of scripture, then that is the truth of your character and you owe your reader that truth.

5. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor