1. aikoaiko

aikoaiko Senior Member

Style vs. Conciseness

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by aikoaiko, Mar 25, 2015.

Hi Everyone,

Not sure if this is an apt title for the thread, but there's something I've been wondering about.

I recently joined a critique group made up of many genre writers (incl. crime fiction, thrillers, mysteries, etc). The novel I'm working on now is sort of a hybrid of different genres because I started it before I knew that much, and there wasn't really a plan.

Anyway, I've been getting criticized for overwriting lately, but that doesn't upset me much because I'm a former non-fic writer and I know I push in too much detail. The thing that's got me rattled is that when they go over each of my chapters and correct them line by line, some of them trim things to the point where each sentence is shaved within an inch of its life and I barely recognize my own writing.

Now, I understand when info. isn't needed and I am glad to have someone point that out, but I don't have a brief style. The people cutting things are mostly crime writers, etc. and their writing is very succinct. It works very well for what they're doing and I would call them good writers, but their work bears no resemblance to other writers I've read either like Louise Erdrich, Toni Morrison, or even Ernest Hemingway. I mean, I'm not saying most writing does bear resemblance to those folks (mine included, of course!!) but I do get the feeling I could post a paragraph by Erdrich with her long sentences and oddly placed commas and it would be cut down immediately for failing to get to the point.:(