1. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Are beast races in fantasy cliched? Or just a staple of fantasy?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Link the Writer, Dec 18, 2012.

Hey there. I'm just starting out my fantasy story, and it just occured to me that I have a lot of beast races. Basically, there are cat-people, lizard-people, dog-people, bird-people, fish-people even oxen-people. To boot, I have also considered including giants and werewolves. The only thing I can say for sure is that my humans aren't elves. They don't have pointy ears and live forever. Their life span is the same as ours.

I don't mind the fact that I have all this, but I'm wondering, am I just not being imaginative in a genre that professes imagination? Granted, its just the bare-boned basics, and their cultures may be what will distinct them, but is it tiresome to have beast-races? Should I do something else with this?

I'm just curious, and would love to hear what you all have to say about it. :D

2. Lorraine Johnson

Lorraine Johnson New Member

I think it doesn't matter as long as you tell the story well and originally. I honestly think werewolves have been done to death, I browse these threads often and everyone seems to be writing about them, but again, its all about how you present the ideas. Bird-people sounds more imaginative, I haven't heard of them before (aren't dog-people and werewolves the same thing?)

3. ZarisRedmist

ZarisRedmist New Member

Offutt Air Force Base, Nebraska, United States
    @Lorriane I completely agree with you on that point