1. pinelopikappa

pinelopikappa New Member

boys and girls

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by pinelopikappa, Oct 2, 2009.

Reading about Chick-Lit made me remember a question that keeps popping in my head.
    Different writers treat the exact same subject differently (of course:rolleyes:) but how does this work with gender. For instance can one tell if a man or a woman wrote a love scene (or love story)? Or everything else for that matter?

This is a litterary question and absolutely nothing more!Nothing to do with quality of writing ok?

2. baillie

baillie New Member

I think this is a good topic. I personally avoid fiction written by a woman. (Sexist I know, but I have my reasons).

I've had some bad experiences with books written by women, in that I feel the character development and feelings/ emotions of the characters override the story or plot. I know many people will disagree with this, but its just the way I feel.

I think I could tell the difference between whats been written by a man and whats been written by a woman.

3. Irish87

Irish87 New Member

Good literature is good literature. When I first read Atlas Shrugged in 10th Grade I figured the writer was a man because of how it was written. Come to find out Ayn Rand is a woman, if not a bit unfeminine. Nevertheless, I loved the book and found out I can't always go on my assumptions.

To each his own.

4. HorusEye

HorusEye Contributor Contributor

I think it's time for you to read some Mary Shelley.

5. arron89

arron89 Banned

You should read about l'ecriture feminin and the works of second-wave Feminists. They have a lot to say about the differences between writing by woman and men. Virginia Woolf and Clarice Lespector are also important with regards to this kind of theorising.

6. Sillraaia

Sillraaia New Member