1. Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith Banned Contributor

How do I finish my work?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Aaron Smith, Mar 25, 2016.

I've been writing steadily for three years now, with only a few hiatuses, so it is safe to say that I am still very much a novice.

In the beginning I tried writing novels, but they never got finished. Since then I've written a dozen short stories, the next better than the previous, and recently I tpicked up poetry. Still, a novel trumps them all. You cannot beat the feeling of reading a well written novel where thinks transpire into something much greater than you could ever have imagined.

I view myself as an intuitive writer. I don't spend much time on planning, and I often find that when I plan, I end up writing something entirely different anyway.

So I came to the conclusion that I'm not so much interested in telling a story as I am in love with the language. Written words are a beauty. Thus, I've spent a lot of time trying to paint pictures with words, instead of telling stories. So my descriptive language isn't what is lacking, I just simply lack the idea to properly tailor a story.

I attribute it to my lack of life experience, as a lot of great works are heavily influenced by personal experience.

Has anyone been a similar position, and did you get out of it?

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hmm. That's an interesting dilemma. Some novels are very lyrical rather than plot-driven, so you might get away with it if you get to be an expert at the beautiful language thing. However, having a great story enhanced by beautiful language and careful word choice and sentence construction is a thing of beauty and joy forever. Is that what you hope to achieve?

So where are you now, on this scale? Great language, boring story that goes nowhere? Or just a story that got lost in the language? Or ...are you worrying for nothing, and you're already on the right track?