1. Plaidman

Plaidman New Member

Your Approach to Writing

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Plaidman, Sep 8, 2017.

As some of you may have noticed, I am a new member here. I am also a complete beginner at writing. I have several questions for experienced writers. This is one of them:

When you begin to write a story, do you plan out your plot from beginning to end, the way you might put together an outline for a research paper? Or, do you just sit down and start writing and the story goes where it goes?

Other related thoughts:
    Do you focus on creating your main character(s) before approaching the plot?
    Do you think about setting then build your story within it?

The more I think about this, the more I realize there are many ways to approach writing a story. What approach do you take?

Seven Crowns likes this.
  2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

1/ There are Planners.
    and 2/ There are Pantsers.
    3/ There are character-driven stories.
    and 4/ There are plot-driven stories.

Some people like loads of dialogue, some don't.
    Some like loads of description, some like it all action.
    Some people like prologues, some don't.
    Need I go on?

You gotta go where you wanna go,
    Do what you wanna do...

Plaidman and Simpson17866 like this.
  3. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

My process generally is as follows:

Step one is to come up with a scenario that's appealing to me and that I think I could flesh out enough to make the word count for a novel, novella or short story depending on what format I'm interested in writing. These scenarios are often something I want to read but I either can't find or can't find enough of.

In step two I come up with the characters; what type of character personalities fit the scenario the best, and sometimes I get a feel for their looks as well.