1. Tim Goodwin

Tim Goodwin Banned

New to all things writing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Tim Goodwin, Oct 30, 2015.

Want to say hi to everyone and that I am just getting into writing on a serious level. Have been writing childrens stories and stories for teens for some time but never did anything with them. Don't know how to I suppose. So thought I woould come here and get some advice. Well, thanks for having me and I look forward to getting to know some of you. If someone would let me know how to proceed from here that would be great. Later.

2. ManOrAstroMan

ManOrAstroMan Magical Space Detective Contributor

Welcome to the party!

3. Tim Goodwin

Tim Goodwin Banned

Thank you very much for the welcome. So, how and/or where do I go from here?

4. ManOrAstroMan

ManOrAstroMan Magical Space Detective Contributor

Well, if you're feeling brave, you can wade into the debate forum.
    There are a few writing games you can jump into, like word association, or What Would Your Character Do?
    If you have a question about a particular issue, you can post it in the appropriate section. Character development, setting, plot, research, etc.
    If you want a critique on your work, you have to belong to the forum for a little longer, and offer critiques on other people's work.
    There are also some general discussion threads about things like movies and books.
    Things are pretty well organized, so you should be able to find what you're looking for.

5. Bookster

Bookster Banned

Welcome. Glad you're here.

As with any Internet forum, I think the key to a positive experience here is to spend some time participating in all areas of the forum. Avoid the Debate Room if you like, but try to be a part of the other areas. Answering as well as asking questions is important in the technical threads. Everyone's opinion is useful.

6. Komposten

Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Contributor

Welcome, @Tim Goodwin!