Tags:
  1. MixtapeLover

MixtapeLover New Member

Which genre does my story fit into?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by MixtapeLover, Sep 28, 2017.

Hi! This is my first time on a writing forum and I need help. I am writing a story but I can't tell which genre it is. My story is about a girl and a boy who were raised together since the boy's mother was the girl's nanny and they grew up to be bestfriends. The boy eventually moved out to the big city to live his dream. After loosing contact for almost 2 years, his bestfriend comes in town asking him to go on an adventure : travel with her to a small city to follow a myth/legend. The story will probably be around maybe 2o - 30,000 words, I am still at the begining and wrote around 7,000 words. Since it will be quite short, I thought of publishing it through Amazon/Kindle. I thought it could be a young adult story but apparently a 21 year-old main character doesn't work. I've also read that adult books have mature themes/content which my story doesn't have. Does anyone have an idea what genre my story falls in? Tank you :)

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

It'll be a novella, and adult rather than YA. Whether it's middle grade/young adult/adult doesn't depend on themes but on the age of the main character.

Is the myth/legend real, and something that we don't find in real life? E.g. they go in search of dragons and find dragons. If that's the case, you're probably in one of the fantasy subgenres. If not, it's harder to tell from the info you've given.

What's the major 'tone' of the book - scary? Heart-racing? Funny? Fun and frolicks? Is there lots of action or is it more about the character interactions and development?

3. MixtapeLover

MixtapeLover New Member