Tags:
  1. Nicoel

Nicoel Senior Member

Writing about a different kind of Character

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Nicoel, Jan 4, 2015.

Hi all! I've had a story idea about a romance where everyone has a "significant other." Where they have a soul mate, and it's something they find out after meeting the other persons eyes for the first time. The thing is - I want to make the main character neurotypical (no mental disorders) but I want her "one" to be a male with mild (perhaps medium) autism/aspergers.

As long as it's mild and they're considered competent, there's nothing illegal about relationships (sexual or otherwise). I have a lot of experience with autistic people, but for some reason I'm very worried about how I can make his character not seem... childish. This is going to be a story between two adults. I'm also worried about making it offensive.

I also want to experiment with a sex scene (I've already started to do research on this). Does anyone have any advice, or tips on how to develop his character along with the main character? Has anyone tried to write something like this, or have any actual personal experience? This is my first romance!

2. Jack Asher

Jack Asher Banned Contributor

If you have a lot of experience with autistic spectrum then your problem will not be portraying them accurately. You're problem will be convincing the reader that you know what you're writing about. Most people don't have any experience with autistic spectrum, and some of what your characters do won't be understandable to them.

I think the best way to move forward is to have a group of autistic characters, a support group, or street gang, somewhere where more then one character is seen to behave...erratically. It will be easier for the reader to understand what's happening then, and not that the character is just really poorly written.

3. Nicoel

Nicoel Senior Member