1. story_teller

story_teller New Member

I don't want to be famous, I just wan't to be awesome! (or just a bit)

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by story_teller, Jan 6, 2012.

I'm lazy, I need to keep writing and keep practising, but I don't see the harm in just telling a story for the sake of sharing a good old yarn. I have good days and bad with grammar and spelling, tense and basic sentence structure, I'm not stupid, I have a diploma in creative writing, but I like to tell the story, like make them up as I go out loud, so I apologise now to anyone who might one day have to endure the great task of proof reading and editing any of my work. I can't do it, I see what I hear in my head, just now reading back the second sentence has like 7 commas and must last for almost 15seconds...... not good. How can I get the stories that are in my head onto paper........ without ranting?:confused::confused::confused:

2. Ziggy Stardust

Ziggy Stardust Active Member

If you're an oral person (harr harr) buy one of those personal memo devices (little machines with a microphone that record into an mp3) or a headset for your computer, and just dictate your stories. Then play them back and type them out as they read.

I'm concerned that you have a "diploma in creative writing" and yet don't know how to use commas. :confused:

3. Kio

Kio New Member

Lol, wow.

Okay, first of all, if you're really concerned about not ranting, learn to use commas. Ask for help or read up on comma usage. That should really cut it down and, eventually, it will come naturally. Or, at least to me it did.There are times where you will make mistakes, but it happens to everyone. Good luck and welcome!

1 person likes this.
  4. Jhunter

Jhunter Mmm, bacon. Contributor

Punctuation and Grammar.

5. Mercury12000

Mercury12000 New Member

I don't universally equate good storytelling with good story writing. I am no good at relating things orally, but I can sure write it.