1. Caveriver

Caveriver Active Member

Losing my patience with the grind... help??

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Caveriver, Aug 14, 2016.

Well, I have written myself into a corner. My plot has been building toward a certain scene that will a) reveal vital information about the MC's past, and b) line up the events for the remainder of the story. BUT: every time I think I've gotten right up to the point where I can take the plunge and tackle this scene, I realize I'm not quiiiiiite there yet. There always seems to be something missing, so one more, then one more, then ONE MORE scene that I seem to need to come first. It is infuriating.
    I've tried skipping the parts I am restless on, and getting right to the parts I want to write, but THAT never works, because I think of something else that needs to come first. So much rides on this pivial point in the plot, it HAS to be thouroughly set up. I am not good at writing out of order either, just because I freeze at the thought of the potential plotholes this might cause. Completely blows my mind.

Does anyone have any advice on how to muscle through these last necessary parts, and get on with the good stuff?

2. Dr. Mambo

Dr. Mambo Contributor Contributor

If you can't get to this ultra-pivotal event through the natural progression of the story, then I would ask if it's a) as ultra-pivotal as you think it is, or; b) actually part of this story and not best suited for a different one. If the answer to both questions is yes, then just keep writing until you get there. If you force it, it isn't going to feel right when people read it.

As for your last question, isn't the necessary stuff also "good stuff?" If it's not, consider cutting it.

Lifeline and Catrin Lewis like this.
  3. Francis de Aguilar

Francis de Aguilar Contributor Contributor

Try writing the scene you are building to, then maybe you will be able to find that missing part.

Simpson17866 and jannert like this.
  4. jannert