1. Soul

Soul New Member

Help regarding sterotypes

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Soul, Jan 7, 2011.

I am new to writing,yet my desire to write is great :) .I would be really greatfull if experienced writer's would offer me insight regarding stereotypes,when they are usefull,and when they are complete fluke.Genre isn't matter.

2. Angharad Denby-Ashe

Angharad Denby-Ashe New Member

I think they can be helpful with comedy. Scene set. Stereotypical red-blooded American male, its Sunday, he has just left the grill and has a beer in his hands, he plops down on the sofa turns on the tv - to watch ballet. :)

3. FrankABlissett

FrankABlissett Active Member

Do you mean racial/religious/gender/etc stereotypes? Or do you mean stereotypical stock characters? The two do overlap.

In my mind, the first is where one uses a character as a stand in for a group of real people, with all the cultural baggage that is associated with that group. In the second, the character is a stand in for a group of fictional people. Obviously, the two feed off one another, thus the overlap.

Stock characters are easiest to describe in parody. Think "Snidely Whiplash" as a parody of stock villains of the silent film era. Or any of the superheros from "The Tick". The moment you see them, you know what they are all about.

By bringing in all that cultural baggage, stereotypes allow you to have a character who is already well developed the moment s/he is introduced. That's a powerful tool that especially useful in short fiction. On the other hand, if your reader is unfamiliar with the stereotype, the character will lose a lot of depth. It's sometimes considered lazy writing, though I don't have any problem with it myself.

-Frank

4. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

I nearly always start with a stereotype then alllow the story to develop their humanity.

5. Soul

Soul New Member