3 vote(s)
    4.5%
  6. Other student

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. newjerseyrunner

newjerseyrunner Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2022

What type of writer are you?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newjerseyrunner, Aug 29, 2017.

I'm sure curious what the spread of interests is on this site. Some of you I kinda know by now, but lots are total mysteries.

Professional Author: 9-5 job writing or full time author.

Professional Adjacent: In the writing field but not necessarily a writer as a primary function. Editor, professor, agent...

Amateur hopeful: you work an unrelated field and write part time. You hope to eventually become a full time writer.

Hobbyist: Your work is unrelated and write part time, but have no interest in writing full time.

English student: anything related to writing and hopeful to be a writer

Other student: you are probably here to help you write better papers for various classes.

Other: then what are you, a cat?

I'm a hobbyist. Unless I hit the jackpot and write a bestseller or something, I don't plan on doing anything than software and science. I paint and play guitar too, so I just like being creative and I get a thrill out of scaring people with my stories. It's something that I can do anywhere without any equipment.

2. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor

I'm a cat.

I picked amateur hopeful for lack of a better option - I used to freelance but it wasn't really a 9-5, and since I've lost the ability to do that I'm trying to get a job in a different field. I don't really hope to write fiction full time, though. My expectations aren't that high.

3. surrealscenes

surrealscenes Senior Member

I chose amateur. I have made money writing in the past and plan to again in the future, would love to do it full time, but working 24/7/365 makes me tired and my brain shuts down from time to time.

4. Aria Thorne

Aria Thorne New Member