1. Mocheo Timo

Mocheo Timo Senior Member

Novel How do you develop a story into a novel?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Mocheo Timo, Jun 16, 2015.

I've never written any novels or books before, but I have a couple of ideas and I'm planning to. My issue is that I feel like I should improve my short stories before taking a step into something longer.

Now, I am already suspicious of this thought-processing style, and will most likely reject it when one of my ideas for novels grows so big, that I won't be able to say no to it. I haven't reached that stage yet, so my questions remain.

How do you decide to write a novel? Is it the kind of idea for a story you know right away is reserved for a novel? Or do you start by simply writing a story and then decide whether it will be a short story or a novel?

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Here's a thoughtful wee article from Writers' Digest that might give you a few things to think about, when making the choice between writing a short story or a novel. There is a lot of difference (besides just length) between the two.

What kind of a story you want to tell? Something that makes a pertinent point or contains a sudden twist that resolves the plot? Something that involves a lengthy journey? Something that takes place over a very short period of time, or something that develops over a long period of time? Something that involves only a few characters and maybe only a single point-of-view character? Something that extends to many characters, or focuses on just a couple of them?

http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-goal/improve-my-writing/novel-or-short-story

Mocheo Timo likes this.
  3. Mocheo Timo

Mocheo Timo Senior Member

The article was really helpful. Thank you! :)

4. Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith Banned Contributor