1. angel2016

angel2016 Member

How do I handle a possible stereotype?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by angel2016, Aug 2, 2016.

Strange question, but I've run into an issue here. My story is soft science fiction, probably soft enough to be considered fantasy. I need to have a character explain something theoretical to my main character, but I don't want to go into the details, because...fantasy.

I was thinking this character could explain it and I could have my mc kind of space out while he's explaining it, and only catch the major details, but because she's a woman, I feel a little awkward handling it that way. I did write it that way at first, and my mc came off as..well...a stereotypical woman who can't handle science.

I'm a woman and an engineer, so I obviously know women are smart enough, but I don't want to deal with engineering and science and details it in my story.

How else can I handle this?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

First question: Why does the explanation need to be "onscreen" at all?

zoupskim, Oscar Leigh and BayView like this.
  3. Selbbin

Selbbin The Moderating Cat Staff Contributor Contest Winner 2023

or you could just write:

She explained to Bobette the complex nature of wizbangery using wild hand gestures and getting overly excited by even the minor details, like how the thermal intake valve is pressure tested inside a vat of goo.

You don't need to 'quote' everything all the time.

4. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I agree with the other posters... if your character doesn't care, your readers don't care. Cut it back until your character starts caring.

zoupskim and Oscar Leigh like this.
  5. angel2016

angel2016 Member

Thanks, everyone. I'd really rather it happen off-screen, but...first draft problems. I need to tell myself the story first. I'm hoping I can find a way to cut it later.

zoupskim likes this.
  6. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor