1. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

Probable timetable for identifying a "John Doe"

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by agentkirb, Sep 26, 2011.

Ok, so I've obviously asked crime questions before. This is more of the same. The question is... say someone dies and their ID is gone and their DNA isn't in the system, etc. How long could it possibly take for the forensic people to figure out the persons ID? I know on all of the TV shows they always figure it out in mere hours, but I don't want to assume that's the norm. And really what I'm asking is what do you guys think would be the longest plausible time they would keep trying to look before they just gave up? Only a few days? A week? A few weeks? Or perhaps a month after the crime they decide to look over evidence with fresh eyes to see if they could get anywhere on the persons ID.

2. Summer

Summer New Member

I am not an officer, nor do I work in law enforcement in any form, but my guess is that it depends. Not a good answer but I think for writing you will have a lot of leeway. Some reasons I think it might vary would be: nature of the case--if it looks related to something else, bigger, it may motivate the police more; amount of other cases the department is working; if someone comes forward that [person] is missing who turns out to be this John Doe; other identifying objects on this dead person like clothing affiliated with something else (religion, workplace, etc.). I think it depends strongly on whether the body has ANY leads, and if the people that get contacted are helpful. So it is possible that someone could be identified in a few hours, and its possible that a person might never be identified.