1. BajaAsh

BajaAsh New Member

Other Nonfiction Writers?

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by BajaAsh, Apr 10, 2012.

Hey :)

I wondered if anyone else hereabouts likes writing nonfiction. I write a lot of "X Things You Didn't Know About Y" and things like that for my blog (I like researching trivia like that. ^^). Anyone else? :)

-Ash

2. Corybobory

Corybobory New Member

Hi Ash,

Although I'm a struggling blog writer (I have one but suffer from short uninteresting posts lol), I do enjoy researching and writing non-fiction!

I finished my Masters degree 3 years ago and have yet to start a PhD, but in the meantime have tried to keep writing about my research interests and submitting abstracts to conferences etc. I've managed to co-author a full paper that was published in a conference proceedings, but other than a few other abstracts there's not much else. I find it really hard without being a part of a department with access to journals etc :(

How do you choose topics to write about? How do you research them? :)

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

as i'm a practicing philosopher, my writings are almost exclusively non-fiction now, ash...

4. Cassiopeia Phoenix

Cassiopeia Phoenix New Member

I write non-fiction a lot -- I like writing in general, so I basically write about anything... Especially because I have this thing where I am always in the mood to write, but not always in the mood to write fiction.

5. BajaAsh

BajaAsh New Member

My topics really just come to me randomly. I have a big interest in linguistics--stormy nights will find me trawling through Wikipedia pages on Creole languages--and sometimes I'll stumble across an interesting bit a of trivia and decide to research more about it. :) I generally go to sites like PBS and Nat Geo, because they usually have links to other sources as well. ^^

Cassiopeia, I know that feeling. >< Frustrating. :p

6. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor