1. Daniel

Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors Founder Staff

Returning to fiction

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Daniel, Jul 22, 2014.

I used to write a lot of short stories and even had a few unfinished novels when I was in middle school and high school. Then I went to college and stopped writing fiction. I still wrote song lyrics, essays, blog posts, and freelance articles - generally more formal, argumentative, non-fiction, and topic-based material.

It's been a long time since I've written fiction, but now that I've graduated, I'd like to pursue it again. I have a few ideas for novels I'd like to pursue, but frankly, it's a little intimidating after not writing fiction in so long. I'm basically a new writer as far as writing fiction goes (especially since I was so young when I wrote fiction). Though I've written a lot over the past few years, writing non-fiction, essays, and freelance articles is nothing like writing fiction.

How do I get back to writing fiction? Should I treat myself as a new writer and "try to learn how to write", or should I just dive in? I was thinking of participating in our contests and writing prompts to get the feel for fiction. I also might read more fiction and evaluate the author's style and techniques. What would you do? How should I approach this?

2. Domino355

Domino355 Senior Member

I think you should just dive in. The way I see it, to learn how to write fiction you need to write fiction. As you write you will get better at it

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

Reading and studying are always good things to do.