Tags:
  1. TLK

TLK Active Member

The Second Draft

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by TLK, May 12, 2013.

Hi guys,

So I've just started on the second draft of my first novel but, other than the obvious mistake correcting, adding clarification and improving sentences, I'm not really sure what else to do. The second draft seems to be a big thing for most people, but I was wondering why? Finally, are there any tips I should bear in mind?

Thanks in advance!

2. Nee

Nee Member

Ah...hit out of the park on the first try, eh...?

3. TLK

TLK Active Member

I'm not sure what you mean by this... :L

I haven't given up, if that's what you mean, I just wanted tips and advice on what I'm doing. To make sure I'm doing everything I should be doing, if you like. I'm still pretty new to the ins and outs of writing.

4. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Well done on getting to the second draft. First fix all the basic mistakes like spelling, grammar, and perhaps any flaw in consistency (eg. MC having blue eyes on p.5 and then brown eyes on p.50 etc). Look at the bigger picture - do the plot, events etc flow? Is the character development clear and logical? Are things explained well so that the readers understand the twist at the end? Examine the build up of the story. The first draft is really just the gathering of all the lego blocks and sorting them out into some kind of order. The second draft is about dismantling these lego blocks and rebuilding it, adding any missing blocks you hadn't noticed, taking out any extra blocks that are superfluous, exchanging the red block for the black block because it somehow just FITS better, even if the red black had worked fine before.

Redo all of the above, and then read it again. At some point after a number of repeats, you'll be ready to go for the polishing (rewriting any awkward sentences, adding little details, making paragraph breaks, word choice etc).

5. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member