1. NomDeGuerre

NomDeGuerre Member

Does this analogy about computers work?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by NomDeGuerre, Oct 10, 2016.

Hey all, figured this was the subforum to post a question about using a computer analogy to describe someone.
    I know NOTHING about computers! :( But my character is a computer genius and he equates his life dilemma to a "line of code." I don't know if it's correct or even makes sense. Any input appreciated. THANK YOU, YOU AMAZING COMPUTER PEOPLE!!!:supersmile:

Here's the brief section:
    He was one of MIT’s brightest students. And also a complete loser. “Loser” was not, in his mind, a subjective term. It was as irrefutable as a line of code that corresponded to a very specific function.

Some Guy likes this.
  2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I'm a programmer and it's not working for me. Can you explain what he means without the metaphor, so that I might be able to think of a better metaphor?

texshelters likes this.
  3. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Not a computer person either, but I've read enough XKCD to know that a "line of code" is basically the same thing for them that a "line of text" is for us, and "a line of code that corresponded to a very specific function" might as well be "a line of text that corresponded to a very specific scene."

Just a basic building block of a larger work, not anything that fundamentally connotes "I'm having a problem."

Maybe an analogy like "a missing close parenthesis" (I also got that from XKCD)?

4. NomDeGuerre

NomDeGuerre Member

Well, basically, I'm looking for computer analogy where something is "irrefutable." If a line of code connotes a certain function then isn't that irrefutable? Something that is solidly one thing and not something else.

5. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor