1. Steerpike
    Offline

    Steerpike Felis amatus Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    5,322
    Location:
    California, US

    Fans of Pratchett or Douglas Adams...

    Discussion in 'Book Discussion' started by Steerpike, Jan 20, 2011.

    Just recently started a book by Dan Abnett (of Warhammer 40K fame) called Triumff. The humor is very much in the vein of Pratchett/Adams. Check it out.

    First chapter is available as a sample at the Angry Robot Books web site.
     
  2. The Degenerate
    Offline

    The Degenerate Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks for the suggestion. Hitchhiker's Guide is one of my favorites.
     
  3. Steerpike
    Offline

    Steerpike Felis amatus Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    5,322
    Location:
    California, US
    Yeah, me too. This one is sort of an alternate history/fantasy rather than science fiction, but the humor has been good so far. I'm in the middle of it at the moment.
     
  4. Elgaisma
    Offline

    Elgaisma Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,337
    Likes Received:
    92
    Also recommend Smith by Mike Devlin its is a self published book, but I found it as funny and gripping as Hitchhikers.
     
  5. Jonias
    Offline

    Jonias Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just began reading Adams (finished Hitchhiker's, onto Restaurant) and I love it! But I've not yet read Pratchett. Can anyone recommend a good Pratchett book for a first timer?
     
  6. Elgaisma
    Offline

    Elgaisma Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,337
    Likes Received:
    92
    hmm Pratchett most are good Wyrd Sisters is my favourite, but Colour of Magic isn't bad the first one. His kids books like Hatful of Sky are fun as well.
     
  7. Heather Munn
    Offline

    Heather Munn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Tiskilwa, Illinois
    I really like Equal Rites by Pratchett.

    Have any of you Pratchett fans read his book Nation? Very different from his usual stuff, but really amazing.
     
  8. Ellipse
    Offline

    Ellipse Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    32
    That series is getting awful large for a trilogy. :) I always wondered if that was a joke he planned.

    "I have this idea for a trilogy, but it will actually be five or six books..."
     

Share This Page