1. passenger

passenger Member

Looking for a good book on writing guidelines and grammar usage

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by passenger, Apr 8, 2016.

Hi, I'm new to writing. Hardly know grammar. Thought I might ask if anyone knows any good writing guideline books or quick tip books on writing.

I'm not trying to go pro. I just want to ba able to journal better.

Thanks.

2. NobodySpecial

NobodySpecial Contributor Contributor

Under the resources link there is a sub heading for grammar guides. You can start there, with the free stuff online, and probably cover what you're looking for.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
    passenger likes this.
  3. SethLoki

SethLoki Retired Autodidact Contributor

'The Little Brown Handbook' serves me well. You can get it on Amazon.

passenger likes this.
  4. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

The Chicago Manual of Style is used by most publishers. It's very good and gets my vote.

passenger likes this.
  5. DueNorth

DueNorth Senior Member

Google the website "grammergirl". I use it when I am writing.

passenger likes this.
  6. Sack-a-Doo!

Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor

But don't pay any attention to what they say about writing the word 'Internet' with a lowercase 'i.' It's a proper noun and therefore should be capitalized. They may cite historical precedent, but that's from a time when the military, government and large corporations were the only ones with access and they each had their own. Once they all became interconnected, it became one entity, the Internet (and there's even a good argument for capitalizing 'The').

Frankly, the only reason people don't capitalize Internet is because it means one less jab at the Shift key. And that's just Laziness (with a capital 'L!').

passenger likes this.
  7. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

The Elements of Style by Strunk and White.

8. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor