1. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon

    problem with putting excerpts in " "

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by mammamaia, Oct 24, 2012.

    something weird is happening today!

    when i highlight something in a quick reply box and hit the quote button, up pops that pesky 'do you want to leave this page' thing...

    so i have to waste time and effort to go to 'advanced' in order to get what i want shown as a quote work...

    what's goin' on, fellas?
     
  2. Pheonix
    Offline

    Pheonix A Singer of Space Operas and The Fourth Mod of RP Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5,716
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    The Windy City
    It worked fine for me... Mighta just been the site glitching for a second, I've noticed that that happens.
     
  3. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    happened again just now... with the italics button, too...

    are you there, daniel?
     
  4. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I cannot reproduce it either.
     
  5. Trilby
    Offline

    Trilby Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    NE England
    I've been having the same problem for a couple of days now, when I try to post anything.

    Edit; it worked fine that time.
     
  6. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    ...it's still not working for me... and now i can't even get the quote or italics to work in the 'go advanced' window!... i've never had this happen till now and it doesn't happen anywhere but on this site, so it can't be my computer...

    ...oh, and i can't make the window-enlarger thingy work in the 'quick post' window, either! [but it works here, and so did the quote and italics buttons, which is verrry weird!!!]
     
  7. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    i'm testing...

    ok, so they don't work in the 'quick reply' window... or in the 'go advanced'... only in the 'edit'... anyone have any idea why??? :confused:
     
  8. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    i'm still trying to find out why this started happening all of a sudden, when it never did before, in all the years i've been here...

    still, none of the effects buttons are working!... they don't work in the quick reply or advanced window, but they do in the edit window... WHY!???
     
  9. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    is no one but me having this problem?

    if i continue to get no responses, i'll just have to assume the site is alive and is trying reject/eject/deject me, for some nefarious, otherworldly reason... ;-(
     
  10. Pheonix
    Offline

    Pheonix A Singer of Space Operas and The Fourth Mod of RP Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5,716
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    The Windy City
    Maia, what are you using to view the site? A tablet, phone or computer, and what browser?
     
  11. Dante Dases
    Offline

    Dante Dases Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England
    I occasionally have the same problem in Firefox. Generally I click to leave the page and it posts - it's been an irritant, but not an operational problem for me. I can't really add anything else I'm afraid, Maia. Just put it down to a site glitch and we'll talk to Daniel.
     
  12. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    thanks muchly, dante!

    fyi, i'm using the same browser i've been using since this site was born, msn's premium hotmail-msn explorer browser... and this has never happened in all the years since, till now... plus, i post on two other writing sites and am having no probs there, so it has to be a glitch in this site only...

    fingers crossed you find the glitch soon, as it's seriously hampering my ability to post here...

    love and frustrated hugs, maia
     
  13. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    bless you, whoever!... i'm finally able to use all the styling buttons!
     

Share This Page