1. halisme

halisme Contributor Contributor

Women, how do you flirt?

Discussion in 'Research' started by halisme, Dec 24, 2016.

Okay, as a person who has never written or been in a romantic relationship before, and as person of the wrong sex/gender, I am not an expert on how women flirt, quite the opposite really. This is a bit of an issue as, while writing, my male MC and female side character have started developing feelings for each other. He comes from a culture that is pretty repressive in terms of emotions, so he's not prone to making the first move. After looking at things online, a lot of them seem pretty cliche, and some of them were "is she flirting with you" stuff which I don't really class as reliable information. So, to the women of WF, how do you flirt?

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

Okay so I'm a man - but drawing on my 'vast' experience of dating I'd say indicators of interest are laughing at your jokes , playing with her hair, prolonged eye contact , expressing an interest in whatever drivel is spilling from your lips...

and of course the more unmistakeable ones like writing her phone number on a beer mat or whispering "lets go back to my place" in your ear. :D

It depends on how forward you want your FMC to be

J.D. Ray, Lifeline and Simpson17866 like this.
  3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Does your character actually need to flirt? Like, is it in her character to be playful, not entirely direct, etc.?