1. Irish87

Irish87 New Member

A Question for Fans of Fantasy

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Irish87, Mar 21, 2010.

I love fantasy as a rule, but I've come to despise it as well. Every novel I read seems to be plagued with the same old stereotypes and the same old cliches that I've heard and read at least a hundred times. As a writer I am intellectually offended that we so lackadaisically rely on the brilliance of others to make our work look decent. I think that alone is the reason why I've left the fantasy genre altogether. Even when I found fantasy that is drastically different (Steampunk comes to mind) I find that while one or two or even three of those books are original, there is an incursion of copiers who come in the thousands.

So, with all of that said and explained, I want to know what you, whoever you are, find interesting about fantasy. I also want to know what you hate. The reason I ask this is because I honestly enjoy writing fantasy, but it seems from afar that if I'm writing anything that does not involve orcs, british wizards, swords, or dragons of some type I will find no audience and fewer supporters. I've always said that I write for myself, and I do, but if I want to be published one day I would be a fool to ignore what fans of fantasy want.

P.S.: Feel free to rant, it gives me something to think about.

2. fadedstar27

fadedstar27 New Member