1. JAU44

JAU44 New Member

Advice Welcome - The End?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by JAU44, Apr 4, 2010.

I was going to wait a while for people to reply to my first post in the welcome section but what can I say, I'm impatient.

First of all, I hope I'm posting in the right place. Though I will be making a bunch of points and asking a few different questions which may or may not belong in this particular section.

I've been working on something for quite a while now. I don't want to go into too much detail but everything I am going to say is about this one particular piece. I don't know what you'd call it; I'm not really a writer so it's not a novel. For now, I think I will call it a story. I would love to get it on TV one day. I really am a visual person and I feel like TV's probably the best medium for this particular story. I would also consider a graphic novel as a second choice.

Now I'm no expert on fiction and I'm well aware that it's becoming harder and harder to be original, however I'd like to think I am creating something unique or at least different from the conventional serialised drama formula.

Since first originating the idea back in 2008, I have had several problems; some gave me cause to give up for a while but many have since been solved. Saying that, I would still like some thoughts and opinions...

The story would take place over hundreds of years. This is necessary for me to show the development of society and the expansions of family trees. To tackle this problem, I have decided to pick important plot points and base each season around one of those. Any gaps could be covered in flashbacks (if need be). So each new season would take place a number of decades after the last, subsequently, it follows that each new season would consist of a brand new cast... though I am considering at least one mainstay throughout the entire story.