?

Are you a professional or amateur writer?

1. Professional

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Amateur

15 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. The Cuckoo's Nest

The Cuckoo's Nest Active Member

Amateur or Professional?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by The Cuckoo's Nest, Jan 18, 2015.

I'm curious to know how many people here are professional writers. I've set up the poll so that votes are private in case anyone prefers to have their status remain anonymous. If you do want to identify yourself, just leave a reply. I'm an amateur writer; I've a couple of works published in some unknown journals, but I didn't get paid for them. The closest I got to getting paid was when a Japanese newspaper agreed to pay me $400 dollars for 4 columns, but then canceled the deal at the last minute. I had written them one article that they never published and they paid me $100 for it, so I guess I can say, someone has paid me to not publish my work. That always gets a couple of laughs among friends.

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

Semi-professional here. It's not my main source of income by a long way, but I occasionally get some beer money from it.

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

How are you defining the terms? Based on Lemex's post, are we saying that amateurs make NO money, semi-pros make some money but not enough to live on (and which box should semi-pros tick on the survey?) and pros, I guess, have quit their day jobs and are making a living from writing full time?

Even with those definitions, there will still be some ambiguity - if someone makes enough that they COULD live on their writing earnings, but still works a full-time job, are they pro or semi-pro? etc.

4. Lemex

^Good point. If I cannot make enough to live on, would I be an amateur? My income is primarily my teaching, but the writing is often an offshoot of that.

5. The Cuckoo's Nest