1. Kataang

Kataang New Member

Animal Research - Who would they be?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Kataang, Feb 28, 2012.

G'day all,

This is my first post on the Writing Forums and I signed up primarily because - I need some help. I've been writing a novel for the past two years and although I doubt it will ever go to print, I nonetheless want to put in real time, effort and research. Now, several of my characters at one stage or another were animals and in particular, wolves. I've read a number of books where people become wolves or vice versa (David Eddings - The Belgariad & Mallorean for example) and there seems to be a universal agreement that wolves are intelligent, cunning and completely loyal. I want to go further than that though, and build my characters' personalities around the "mind" of a wolf.

What would - in your opinion - be some of the key personality traits and ideals that a wolf-turned-human would have?
    I have some ideas; A complete disregard of fauna as a food, a general dislike of cooked meat etc.

Any other thoughts?

- Cheers - Kat

2. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

Wolves are social animals, so I would assume the humans would be as well - family would be important. Hierarchy/dominance is as well, so they would be leaders - and probably ruthlessly so.

3. Felipe

Felipe Active Member

James Patterson's "Maximum Ride" series deals with animal/people gene splicing making bird kids an flying wolves called "Erases" that try to kill the bird kids.

4. Jowettc

Jowettc New Member

David Attenborough has done some fantastic natural history stuff for the BBC over the years - He would be my first choice.

Wolves are, as stated, extremely hierarchical. There is only ever ONE Alpha Male and Alpha Female couple allowed to breed in a pack. Every other member is second to them.