1. JPClyde

JPClyde Senior Member

Are TV Shows Exempt From Actual Research

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by JPClyde, Jul 3, 2017.

Fair Warning the Subject Matter some might find gross.

As a writer, I have always researched every topic known to man to make sure the information I present is as fairly accurate as research can go. But it seems TV shows are exempt from this rule or something.

I'm about to dive into a kind of gross topic. But its like either TV shows completely missed basic sexual education. Or they chose to ignore it.

I hit my breaking point with GLOW. Every damn show has a "she had sex and missed her period" she must be pregnant trope. Every damn show.

Where's the lesson of

-A woman's cycle can change
    -You may actually miss it or be a day late or a week late
    -It can be early than you expect as well

Periods don't happen on clockwork. Something my wife of four years keeps telling, me too. [She's also a writer]

I am just getting tired of it seeing it on every show. It be nice to see something else once in a while. Its no longer high drama. Its just silly. And uninformative and not educational in the least bit. I mean I am not discounting it can happen. But I am also saying it can be also something else.

2. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor

I'm not sure what shows you're watching where every one if them has a subplot where a character has sex, misses her period, and realizes she's pregnant, and it apparently takes up enough time that it's all that tiresome ... I'd also point out that that is in fact how pregnancy happens.