1. RaphaelFee

RaphaelFee New Member

Been telling people I'm a writer...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by RaphaelFee, Apr 19, 2022.

I've been telling people that I'm a writer for the last 15 years and still haven't published anything. I have all these scenes and stories jumbled in my head, and can't seem to organize the chaos. Happy to finally find this site, and hope to find tons of useful information here.

2. Catriona Grace

Catriona Grace Mind the thorns Contributor Contest Winner 2022

Welcome, RaphaelFee. Try writing individual scenes and stories on large index cards, then arranging them on a table top in various orders until you find something that clicks. At least then they'd be jumbled on the table instead of in your head. ;)

pyroglyphian likes this.
  3. one.little.lime.soda

one.little.lime.soda New Member

Currently Reading::
    1984 by George Orwell.
    Welcome! I've not published anything either, we'll get through it.

petra4, Jlivy3 and RaphaelFee like this.
  4. JLT

JLT Contributor Contributor

If the scenes and stories are still in my head, I wouldn't call myself a writer. If you get them down on paper or into digital text, or if you organize them into stories that you tell other people, then you're a writer, whether or not you've published anything at all.

Beyond that, it gets fuzzy. Some take "writer" to mean "professional (published) writer" but I don't hold with that. When you are singing, you could be said to be a singer. When you stop, you're no longer a singer. But when you're generally accepted by people as somebody who can sing, like Lady Gaga or Frank Sinatra, then you could call yourself a singer whether you're singing at the moment or not.