1. Jen Littlest-hobo

Jen Littlest-hobo New Member

Harrogate, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom

character research

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Jen Littlest-hobo, Oct 9, 2012.

Hi all,
    I'm currently a student and would like to write a book for this years project. My question is this, I would like to write something in the crime/horror genre and was just wondering which was the best (if any) way to research a character? I don't come into contact with many serial killers and just wanted to know whether I could interview a serial killer in jail? or if I should interview a psychologist? Or if I should just read a lot from that genre.... Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

2. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

Best thing to do, in all honesty, is look at some criminal justice books on the subject. Serial Killers come in two catagories, an organized killer who plans everything out meticulously, hunts his/her victims away from home, and tends to have a ritual and will dump bodies in a general area. An unorganized killer tends to be wilder, not as much planning and he/she tends to kill in the general area of their homes because that's where they're comfortable.

Then you have sex based serial killers, so there's a ton on it. I have a 180+ page typed article on my laptop from violent crime scene investigation on my laptop about sex based murders. As for the idea that serial killers are smarter then most people, that's only moderately right. Some are and some aren't. And the fallacy that's presented that a particular race (ie Caucasian or African american) are the only one's who've committed it is just that a fallacy. All races and both genders have had examples of serial killers so one can be either sex or any race also.