1. cuzzo

cuzzo New Member

Children's Book Agents

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by cuzzo, Oct 10, 2012.

I've been working on and off on a YA / children's book for about two years. It's pretty short (~20k words) and I've spent a lot of time polishing it.

Anyway, I have some general questions. I have a bit of experience going after traditional agents. I've written a novel and am going through the process of attempting to get that published. I've had a few agents contact me back but none so far that will take me up /=

I read the book Phantom Tollbooth at a relatively old age (20) which gave me the inspiration to start this story. It's an illustrated book (in case you didn't know) and I'd like to have mine illustrated also. I feel like the short length, word choice, and style I used suit the book for maybe the 11-14-ish age group (although, I'd hope that people of all ages could enjoy it [= ). I think that's probably around the same age group as Phantom Tollbooth so I don't think that the age group is too old for illustrations. I think I'd like to just have one per chapter (about 1k words, in my case)... I'm starting to ramble >.<

It was pretty easy to search online and get some advice for steps to take to get a traditional novel published / get an agent. I wasn't so lucky when searching for YA / children's. So I'm wondering if any of you have any advice.

Also, am I supposed to have it illustrated before or after I get an agent (assuming that I ever do >.<)?

Thanks [=

2. Trilby

Trilby Contributor Contributor

Hi, Here in the UK it is not always necessary to have an agent for children's books.

If you are from the UK; place a search for 'children's publishers accepting unsolicited manuscripts' look through the search engine for Lou Traveaven, she has a list of children's publishers with links.

Don't bother about illustrations, the publishers deal with that. Good Luck!

3. cazann34

cazann34 Active Member