1. PádraigAgScríobh

PádraigAgScríobh New Member

Completely new, would like prodding in the right direction

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by PádraigAgScríobh, Sep 13, 2023.

Hi all,

I have a 64k fantasy story complete that I'd love to advertise to agents/agencies, but I've never gone through this process before, despite having a lot of writing done in my time.

Can anyone give a total newbie like myself some tips on this please, like where to look etc.?

I'm Irish and based in Éireann (Ireland) if that helps/makes a difference.

Set2Stun likes this.
  2. Set2Stun

Set2Stun Rejection Collector Contributor Contest Winner 2022 Contest Winner 2023

Currently Reading::
    Atlas Shrugged - Ayn Rand
    Hate to say it, but if your novel isn't YA or middle-grade, 64K is too short for an adult fantasy story.

There are rare exceptions of course, but typically you're going to want to shoot for at least 90K. Bare minimum, maybe 85K. You could always test the waters and send out a few queries, but I'd recommend against it. Most agents these days will ignore your query if they aren't captivated by it, and the rest will send a form letter rejection. They probably won't bother telling you, "This is too short for an adult fantasy novel," which would be helpful feedback. So, here we are in a writing forum sharing advice and swapping our submitting experiences. The querying process itself is quite simple, though. You find an appropriate agent, and submit to them according to their stated guidelines.

Once it's up to an appropriate word count for the genre, the next step is writing your query letter. Plenty of resources on Google, YouTube, etc., and of course there is much discussion on forums as well. You can post your query for critique and I am sure a few people would provide some feedback. It's also a good idea to prepare a short (~400 word) and longer (800+ word) synopsis, as this is frequently requested by agents.