1. Tanpoponoko

Tanpoponoko New Member

Confused about publisher who requested a full

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Tanpoponoko, Oct 3, 2013.

So in May of this year I submitted a query to a publisher, and one of the editors requested to read the full manuscript within hours of my email. I was delighted, of course, and formatted the manuscript to their qualifications , and sent it on its merry way.

Five months later, all there has been is silence. So I decided to send a very short, polite follow-up email, fearing it might be pushy, but I just had to know. I'm a new writer, so maybe getting my first book published would be a big deal.

A week later there hasn't been a reply to that follow-up email. Do I just assume that this offer is dead in the water? Do publishers usually not reply after reading a full? I should note that it's a relatively small, independent press. I figured they would send a rejection, or reply to my follow-up at the very least.

Help me out here?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

how long do their guidelines say they normally take to reply?... the rule of thumb is to add a month or two to that before bugging agents or publishers...

a week after the email isn't much... but have you checked out this publisher to see if it has a reputation for taking forever to respond?... or to see if it's gone out of business [a definite possibility!]?

all that aside, the ridiculously quick request for a full ms after an email from a new and unknown writer is a red flag to me... what is the name of this publisher?

did you check them out on p&e first?

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Check Preditors and Editors (the P&E that Maia referred to). If they haven't asked for money, that's a good sign. The quick reply, I agree, a bad sign. Taking months to get back, normal from what I hear.

4. Tanpoponoko

Tanpoponoko New Member