1. Marcelo

Marcelo Member

Creating a Language

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Marcelo, May 20, 2008.

I have noticed that using created languages really adds depth to a story, and with these languages you can name places, people and things with words that really have a meaning.

However, I'm not an expert linguistic and philologist like Mr. Tolkien, and I do not know the procedures to do such a thing.

So, I am hoping someone out there knows how to create a language by steps, including: Lexicon, grammar, prefixes, suffixes, plural, singular, accents and diacritics, etc.

Thanks in advance!

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

I wouldn't advise starting a language from scratch- even Tolkein didn't do that. He used old languages, celtic and scandinavian, from which he built new languages. My advice, if you're determined to do this, is to choose an ancient language to look into, and base your language on that (it might help if whatever civilization is going to be using this language has a culture similar to that of the ancient civilization, but that's up to you).

3. Gloom Kitty

Gloom Kitty Banned

in a little cage in the bowls of Cephalid
    Orisan Scott card actually advises against using languages other then english in fantasy novels I'll get back to you with the reason for that when I hunt the book down

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Step 1: become an expert in languages and grammars.

You really need to understand languages (plural) in that kind of depth if you plan on doing a convincing job of creating your own language for a novel. You may get away with a few stray words and phrases, but not with anything more extensive.

5. Al B

Al B New Member