1. Hoops

Hoops New Member

Creating Perspective/voice and accents

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Hoops, Mar 26, 2019.

Hello,

I am a high school student writing an 800-word short story for a coming up assessment.

It is about a 14-year-old sent off on the First Fleet from England to Australia as a convict in 1787.

I have created the main plot and story. It is written in a First Person from the boy. But feel that I need to create the story, showing it more of the story from the perspective of this 14-year-old thief, who would speak completely differently to today, be uneducated and have seen nothing other than the streets of 1700's London.

To do this, I have been trying to put in little grammatical errors, every so often, and trying using hyphens to convey his accent. I have tried to find out what the accent would have sounded like through this source and some others.
    ()
    I have removed all of these as nothing of what I have done has felt right and reads badly.

Also, I have put in some slang that was used in the time. (http://mentalfloss.com/article/500833/30-excellent-terms-17th-century-slang-dictionary).

I am also planning to implement scenes of the story where he sees all the things has never seen before, outside of England, such as the different animals, places, and people. And display how this will move him along his Journey, and changes him as a character.

Any tips for creating his accent through the writing, how I can make it more authentically from his perspective, and how to build his voice.

Cheers

2. EBohio

EBohio Banned

Sorry, see the rules of the forum. https://www.writingforums.org/rules/

ETA: There is to be no posting of college or highschool work. As a parent, I would not want my 16yr old being helped with his homework on this forum.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2019
    Alan Aspie likes this.
  3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor