1. AliciaBlack

AliciaBlack New Member

Critiquing actually works!!!!

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by AliciaBlack, Mar 22, 2010.

Blessed be Everyone!

Surprise, surprise!!!

I had read so much discussions about criticism and I even came to fear it; I read stories and saw some errors in them, but didn't have the guts to say it.

Personally, my strongest point is punctuations; I'm not that good at grammar and critical thinking, especially in english since it's my second language.

Back to the point, I critiqued some things that I saw on a thread and it felt good helping others on their writing; it even felt useful xD

For those who are scared like I was, don't be; it's really good, but always remember to be respectful and don't over do it. ;D

Just thought to say this....who else feels this way???

Love....Alicia

2. rainy

rainy New Member

As a further suggestion, also read other critiques on the same piece. You will begin to see those issues and point them out on later critiques and, eventually, even on your own. This is a good way to master sentence structure, dialogue, etc.

I've been writing and mutual critiquing with friends for quite awhile. Then I came here to keep in the swing of things, and learned from other's critiques which I was able to apply to the latest editing of my own work.

It is nice to keep learning and help others in the process :)

//

3. Midnight_Adventurer

Midnight_Adventurer Active Member